Posted by: velocitybags | February 2, 2009

Helmet use – Something to consider

img_21671

This is our friend, Jonathan. Last October, he was riding his bike down a hill and lost control. He crashed and was obviously not wearing a helmet. There was some brain hemorrhaging going on, so they did emergency brain surgery that evening. Thankfully, the surgery was a success and he is doing well. He now wears a helmet.

This affected not only Jon, but it also affected his family, friends, and others who depend on him. Besides the surgery and hospital stay, Jon has also had to deal with severe pain and lethargy following the injury, thousands of dollars worth of medical bills, lost income due to missed work, and having to rely on others to take care of him. His family members went through all this with him and took care of him afterwards. It’s not fun for anyone to watch one of your loved ones suffer like this.

We’re not telling anyone to wear a helmet. Wearing a helmet is a personal choice, but one that should not be taken lightly. Everybody says crashing or being hit is not a matter of “if” it happens, but “when” it happens. Anyway, something to consider.

Responses

  1. i’ve been in personal debates about the helmet bit. even saw a girl fall and spill her blood on the pavement… but i think i am ready to go back to wearing a helmet.. though i can’t get a way with one of those sporty sleeks, something that looks like its from the wastelands. D.I. special. anyways, just wanted to invite you all to the tall bike joust. view the url in the response for details. at those, its full padding and full face helmets – cause full face helmets are sexy.

  2. […] We’re not telling anyone to wear a helmet. Wearing a helmet is a personal choice, but one that should not be taken lightly. Everybody says crashing or being hit is not a matter of “if” it happens, but “when” it happens. Anyway, something to consider.” (Source: Velo City Bags) […]

  3. I had the same internal conflict with wearing helmets until one of my friends ended up on the wrong end of a hit and run. I started wearing one and a couple weeks later, t-boned a car, flew over the car, landed on head, cracked helmet, no cracked head… I’m a believer. Like you said, he had people relying on him, we forget the impact this has on everyone. I hope he is doing well.

  4. Hey all. Thanks for posting this. I wear a super nerdy bike helmet and I’m proud of it. I see more people wearing helmets nowadays, which is good. I also see just as many kids on bikes without ’em. If it was COOL to wear a helmet, I wouldn’t have to call myself nerdy for protecting my noggin! But I guess I don’t see how this is much of an internal conflict. If you like your brains, wear a helmet – pretty simple to me. The fashion choice isn’t worth the one about your head.

    And again, dude, sweet-ass bags. Please keep making them so I can save my money and buy one from ya!

    Happy cyclin’,
    -Emily


Leave a Reply

Categories

